Some people believe that women should play an equal role as men in a country’s police force or military force, while others think women are not suitable for these kinds of jobs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Job roles have always face a gender bias making them a debatable issue ubiquitously. A considerate

number of people argue that women should be given equivalent treatment as of men when job

suitability for posts in police or military is concerned. Nevertheless, other believes that female are less

appropriate for these post then their male counterpart. This essay will present the arguments on

opposite views drawing a firm opinion on why female candidates should be considered same as of male

applicants.

Apparently, the foremost reason that can be highlighted in establishing the suitability of women in

aforementioned jobs is they are highly focused for work compared to men. By handling the various tasks

at home and work, they are prepared mentally and can concentrate more. What is more is, lady officers

are required in these jobs for female criminals. For instance, Kiran Bedi, an IPS officer has evidenced that

a women could be much better at job. To sum up, females are totally compatible with men in police or

military occupation.

On the contrary, it is believed by a few people that women are physically weaker than men and hence

could not join the police or armed force. They might not be able to protect themselves or perform the

duty appropriately when the criminal is physically stronger; their body is not strong enough to withstand

the tough situations. A good example for this is, a female during the war would not be able to resist the

harsh conditions. Therefore, it could be assumed that a few times women may not be able to compete

men.

To culminate the above mentioned arguments, it can be said that despite less suitability in terms of

physique, my reason that female applicants for the post in police and army, could prove to be the ideal

in their job, same as male candidates are justifiable and logically acceptable. It can be suggested that

gender equality is imperial in serving the nation.