Some people feel that the cost of space exploration is far too high for the benefits it brings while others argue that space programmes should continue no matter what the cost. Discuss both sides and give your opinion?

Expenditure on developing technology on outer space exploration has been a subject of concern for many. A school of thought holds that spending money on researching outer space seems to be ludicrous. I partly agree with this thinking and the reasons will be further elaborated in this essay.

There are justifications for people to subscribe to the view that the investment in space exploitation seems to be far-fetched and there are more strategies to allocate this money. Firstly, the Earth is facing survival issues which are more urgent than space exploration. Climate change and global warming are a case in point which correlate with the existence of human beings. The authorities should prior to devote government budget to develop technology and improve environmental quality such as air and water contamination. This may entail maintaining the life-long of humans. Secondly, the massive fund can be diverted to develop vaccines and medicine which is a welcome trend in recent years. This can be attributed to reduce the far-reaching disease or pandemic and stabilize global finance. Corona Pandemic is a case in point. This epidemic disease claims millions of lives and wreck havoc on the global economy owing to the lack of vaccines in developing countries. Instead of alloting to space exploitation whose result is not guaranteed, people should allocate this money to have a deep research on the vaccine. It can bring about a number of immediate benefits.

On the other hand, I firmly hold the view that omitting the benefit which comes from outer space exploration is not wise. To begin with, the funds can open the door to discover a new planet when the Earth is inhabitable. This stems from our planet is overpopulated and deplete the natural resources, thus spending money on space exploration to find out other planets and replace the Earth is an essential investment. Additionally, satellites were original to serve the quest of space exploration. Nowadays, it facilitates the development of fields such as weather forecast, navigation and telecommunication. For instance, satellites assist people in the accurate forecast about the weather in order to minimize the damage not only on finance but also on the death toll.

In conclusion, though the investment on space exploitation seems to be ludicrous, I contend that it also contains a tangle of profit for people.