Some people feel that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others feel that the circumstances of an offence should be taken into account when deciding on a punishment. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether the judiciary system should adopt fixed sentences for all crimes, or it should consider the circumstances and motivation behind each crime. In this essay, I am going to shed some light on this question from both points of view and extend my support to the latter opinion.

On one side of the argument there are people who argue that the benefits of adopting a fixed punishment structure for the crimes committed considerably outweigh its disadvantages. This is because fixed punishments will probably save a lot of time and money that could otherwise be directed for use in much needed services in other sectors of the community such as health and education. Another reason for believing this is that criminals will think twice before they commit any crime, as they would realize that punishment is going to be swift and strict. One good illustration of this is the declined rate of crimes in some countries that adopt a very strict and harsh punitive system.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in many cases there are extenuating circumstances behind many of the crimes committed, especially the minor ones. People often have this opinion because in many countries and communities there may be strong factors influencing crime rates such as poverty and blackmailing. Therefore, it is crucial for judges to consider all the circumstances surrounding a defendant or a case to issue a just and fair verdict. For instance, a young woman convicted of public misconduct may have been forced into prostitution due to poverty. Thus, it goes without saying that their viewpoint is credible and realistic.

In my opinion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I tend to believe that considering the circumstances behind each crime is paramount in order to reach a fair and just verdict in the courtroom.