Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and cannot afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What actions can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

In recent days, one can witness that there are plenty of innovative and exorbitant items readily accessible to consumers in the markets and online. Thanks to industrialization, selling and purchasing of goods have become convenient to not only customers but also to companies. Unfortunately, advertising of these expensive items is tempting to people easily, which in turn causes the financial trouble. This essay will discuss the key reasons for this phenomenon and also the suitable ways to mitigate any adverse consequences.

To begin with, the customers, nowadays, easily fall into the debt trap by purchasing the expensive items that they cannot afford. First, credit cards issued by financial banks have considerably increased the purchasing power of the people. For example, people are buying most of the items easily as they do not need to worry about cash than before as they possess credit cards now. Consequently, they tend to purchase many new items which they do not even need such as fashionable clothes, vehicles, electronics and so on. Moreover, growth in fashion industry is tempting to ladies to buy expensive garments and clothes which they cannot afford even. Second, due to growth in media and advertisements, specially young children have easily trapped by the lifestyle of celebrities. For example, recent research showed that 75% of children have started to imitate actors and actresses by wearing clothes and purchasing bikes. This trend clearly demonstrate that youngsters are spending their parent’s income on those hefty items for the show-off which they do not need at all. Finally, customers are buying the laptops and computers with plethora of features which they do not even know about. This, in turn, results into big debt trap for them.

However, this can be alleviated by taking some important steps. Government authority should aware to citizens of bad consequences of financial debt. For this, they must run awareness campaigns to different regions. In addition, school curriculum should also incorporate the subjects to children on this phenomenon. By this way, they can plan adequately for their earned money in advance and they will not spend the money on any extraneous items which they cannot afford. Moreover, banks should also reduce the available limit of the credit card. This ensure that people will not become spendthrift. Finally, people should buy the electronics only for the features they need.

In conclusion, the spendthrift behavior will be worsening the financial situation of the people, however by providing awareness of financial debt to them will dramatically reduce the spending and eventually debts.