Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tells us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge.

Nowadays, various industries tend to create awareness for their goods and services. While some people believe that this advertisement influence them to purchase what they do not need, others are think that it is a way of informing them about what is available in the market. I strongly agree that advertisement make people buy what they do not need.

To start with, advertising is helpful to make people know that a company has added to their products. For example, I am a great fan of i-phones and I really don't have friends that use I-phones, so the only way I know that there is a new upgrade out there is through advertisement either on television or social media. Through this advertisement, I knew more about the various features or differences between my current phone and the new upgrade. Also, seeing advert about new products will educate people that they could either trade in their trade in any of their products for a better one or they could get a cheaper product/discount that could help them save money.

Despite all these, I still believe that advertisement is a scam that rob people or influence people to buy what they want at the time of seeing the advert but do not really need. For instance, when I tend to see the advert of i-phone 9 and the various features two weeks ago, it made me sell my i-phone 8 at a cheap price to buy i-phone 9 and I ended up finding out that apart from the shape of the two phones there is no major difference. I wouldn't have bought the phone if not for the constant advert I saw on the internet. Furthermore,there is research that when people constantly see things over and over, they develop interest in it and may end up trying it out. Advertising a product over and over tend to change the mindset of the brain about that product which will eventually lead to buying what you do not need.

To close, it is good for company to advertise their product to keep the public informed but I believe that this push people to buy what they don't need. I would suggest that people need to understand that what the purpose of an advert.