Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

The prompt asserts that certain group of people think that advertising is brilliantly successful at convincing customers to purchase commodities, whereas, another demographics of people consider that advertising has become so ubiquitus that no one pay attention to it. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the former opinion, however in some instances, the latter is true.

Firstly, advent of social medias have formed various new platforms or avenues for advertising. Twenty years ago, there was an influx of advertising over the internet mostly through google or any other search engines' browse page. But, slowly the ads are integrated into every sites of internet. For example, youtube is a video streaming platform which has trillions of videos of veriety of contents. At present, it is being used as advertising platform in the same way as television. And, these rapid growth in advertising that lasts three to five seconds, in contrast to normal duration of advertisement which is 30-130 seconds long, are creating new customer base. Most of the common advertising are in youtube because of their success such ase PUBG ( a massive online player game), grammarly ( an app that corrects your grammar through any platform), and many more. Even, I was influenced by the ad of grammarly and purchased it. Not only youtube, ads are spreading through any new mediums such as facebook( an original social media), instagram ( photo sharing social media), TikTok ( short video sharing app), Reddit ( a social media), and many others. And using the database of profiles through these apps, the ads can be used as target based on the customers that is regarded as having the most success at present. To illustrate, if anyone with a account in facebook, search for shoes or perfumes, then there will be more ads about only in that categories which are shoes and perfumes. Therefore, the first opinion is true that advertising is crucially successful when it comes to persuading customers.

However, there are a few cases where advertisements are not that effective. To illustrate, there are barely any advertisement about "google chrome" which is a browser that most people use to surf through internet. The main reason is, it is superior than any other browsers in every aspect such as speed, efficiency, and stability. Another example, Barcelona FC ( football club ) does not advertise about their jerseys, boots , or any other products that are sold worldwide. The primary reason is that thousands of people watch the club's matches on every weekends, and these matches themselves work as advertisements. As one of the best players of the history of football named Lionel Messi plays for this club and for only this reason there is a net profit over 10 million dollars only from this perticular player's jersey sale. But, as there are few caveats when the advertisements are not needed because these products are either way too good that people do not need reminders or they are universally known.

In conclusion, in the first place, advertisements were invented to convince customers to buy their products. If the objective of advertisements was not achieved, then it would had been abolished many years ago. As advertisement is still a thing proves that it is effective. In some instances, advertisements do not have that much effect, still there are residual effects even if the customers are not amazed instaneously. Therefore, advertisements hold too much significance in the business world.