Some people say that in all levels of education from primary schools to universities too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills

Literacy is one of the crucial parts of every individual but there is no denying that nowadays all educational institutes emphasizes in theoretical knowledge instead of practical. I strongly agree with the above stated facts and this can be seen easily in modern education system.

Firstly, I would like to draw attention on the exam oriented teaching of almost every institution. Considerably, all educational authorities gives more weightage in terms of marks to the theory as it comprises of approximately 80 percent of whole in main stream subjects. As a result, students also start giving more priority to conceptual learning over experiential understanding for passing the examination. For evidence, researches shows that suicides in teenagers are increasing day by day just because they could not score well in test.

Secondly, jobs are also given on the basis of academic excellence which is more biased to theory. For example, it has been seen that from very beginning, when students are enrolled in universities or colleges; faculty starts scaring them stating that getting good results only will help in better placements. Moreover, practical marks are also offered on extra payment directly to teacher as bribe. These days, craving for jobs are at their peak as a result students also run behind getting more marks. In short, results matter the most which is biased to learning facts.

To conclude, I strongly agree that more emphasis are given on facts learning over practical learning in every steps of education because it helps in obtaining good marks as well as acquiring jobs.