Some people say that a country should produce food locally, while others believe that it is good to import food. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

A significant number of people believe that food must be produced in their home country. Whereas, others do not agree and consider the import of food is better. In my opinion, I completely disagree and believe that local food production is low in cost and improve the employment of the nation.

Firstly, local production of grains involves majorly cost of farming and distribution to local areas as compared with the imported food which involves taxes, international transportation charges and other labour expenses. Therefore, more production of local food always benefits the nations in terms of inflation. For instance, India is known for the production of cotton in high yield and the purchasing cost of cotton in India is very low as compared with other nations.

Secondly, more production of food means more farming on local land, which directly impacts the employment level and benefits locals in terms of business and job. Hence, the government should promote local farming and encourage their people to do farming. For example, 50 per cent population of Indonesian population are involved in farming directly or indirectly.

On the other hand, imported food products mean storage for longer durations and the shelf life can be maintained through preservation methods, this preservation step required chemicals which may have side effects for a particular population. Hence, I believe that we should focus more on local production of food items.

In conclusion, the imported food has no benefits for the human population, unlike local food. The regional food is more appropriate in terms of consumption, cost and improves employment figures of a nation.