Some people say that a country should produce food locally, while others believe that it is good to import food. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Although it is thought by some people that a nation ought to produce food in their own country, others consider that it is better to import food from other countries. In my opinion, I think food produced locally can benefit more not only to

the country but also to people's health.

A good reason to produce food locally is that it helps to create employment opportunities. Since people buy food from local farmers, they are encouraged to involve in the farming business and grow a variety of food. This helps the economy to grow as many people are either themselves involved in farming or employ people to get the work done. For example, 65% of the Indian economy is dependent on farming because of local people's preference for local food and it employs more than half of the nation's population; thereby, helping the nation to grow faster.

Another point to consider is that food produced locally have less proportion of pesticides. Unlike imported food which involves too much of pesticides as it needs to travel thousands of miles before reaching to the final consumer, food grown locally can be reached at the destination fresh and with the minimal amount of pesticides. For example, according to a recent survey, compared to 60% of the food items have to be equipped with pesticides to keep it fresh for a longer duration, only 5% of local food had pesticides to keep it better for a couple of days. Therefore, locally grown food is better and can be consumed fresh with less proportion of chemicals.

In conclusion, food grown locally helps the economy of the country and give people an opportunity to consume fresh with fewer chemicals.