Some people say that devoting one's time to family activities is more important than spending time working. Others believe that dedicating one's time to work is more important.

It is a common belief that one’s time spent working is more beneficial than the time she or he spends interacting with their family. However, there is a persuasive argument that quality time with family is essential because each person also family are happier when they have more time together.

On the one hand, working is so important for the family’s financial well-being. This is because if one can’t maintain earnings, which his or her family happiness is not ensured. Thus, almost all people must commit much of their lives to their careers. For example, parents sometimes miss out on events in their children’s lives, but this does not show that they are not interested in their family. This is simply a trade-off which they must make. To able to afford their children’s education, parents have to work long hours and sometimes they live far from home. It is a sacrifice for the happiness and success of the overall family.

Nevertheless, spending time with one’s family is more valuable due to it contributes more to an individual and overall family happiness. Time family usually is fun and relaxing, while working is more pressure. According to a poll at Center Development, most respondents ranked family time over work when asked for things that bring out the most satisfaction to their lives. Also, when asked separately whether being with their family and being at work were positive or negative experiences, an overwhelming 85 percent responded that they always enjoy the time that they spend with their families, while over 60 percent claimed to experience more stress than pleasure at their jobs.

To sum up, it is evident that time used for working is sometimes more crucial than family time, it is undeniable that enjoying family time is generally more important and should be a priority.