Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion?

While some argue that it is of great importance to teach History subject at school, others believe that studying Science and Technology modules are far more beneficial than learning History. This essay will discuss both these views, before coming to a conclusion that both are equally important.

People who are in favor of the idea that studying History is more important to students believe that learning history teaches them about their ancestral heritage and inculcates in them local principles. That is to say, learning about the history of one's ancestors opens a window to the past as students will learn about their country's history, customs, religion and all things that relates to their culture. This will help them maintain all the valuable things they inherited from their ancestors, which sets them apart, and also instills in them ethics and morals that are specific to the place where they live. For example, a study that was conducted by Yale University revealed that students who excelled in history were more attached to their country than others.

On the other hand, people who believe that studying modern scientific subjects, such as Information Technology and Engineering, are more advantageous to nation and students as whole. This is because this kind of subjects contributes in promoting creativity amongst students. Thus, will help in improving a country's technology, boost scientific invention, and eventually, increase the national GDP of a nation. For example, focusing on learning science subjects was the driving force behind the Industrial Revolution in the 19th century which made most of the western countries successful nowadays.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is equally important to teach history and Modern Science subjects to raise a successful generation. This is because learning history helps establish morals in students and preserves a society's identity, whereas learning science and technology promotes creativity and welfare.