Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

The advancement of our modern technology has brought about a dramatic alteration in the way people communicate. This essay will first discuss the positive impact this has caused in terms of enabling people to make relationships from different parts of the world; secondly discuss that this may negatively impact children who make a new circle of unanimous friends via social media.

Relations that used to be impossible at a certain point of time, has become possible by means of the omnipresent internet. Nowadays people are able to make new acquaintances and strong relationships through social media and chatting websites. It has even become possible for couples to build long-lasting relationships and many have ended up with a happy blessed marriage. For instance, Maria. L from Australia decided to marry her boyfriend Ali from Morocco, which she met via Facebook. However, some still do not believe in online relationships and consider it as a virtual pastime.

On the other hand, children might be vulnerable to multifarious types of abuse and harassment on the internet. That is to say, children are more likely to be abused when connecting with other people whom they do not know. Because young people are rather naïve and innocent, this puts them at a higher risk of being sexually harassed or verbally abused by older people. It is, therefore, the responsibility of parents to keep track of their children’s activities on the internet. For example, a study that was carried out by Yale University showed that more than 70% of cybercrime was committed against children.

In conclusion, the primary advantage of technology is the fact that it brought the world together and enabled many people from different parts of this planet to get along and communicate. However, children are more prone to unlawful activities when making relations with strangers.