Some people say it is more important to plant trees in towns and cities than to build housing. Do you agree or disagree?

Trees play a vital role in balancing our ecosystem. With the increase in urbanization, the population of trees has decreased to an alarming number. Inspite of this, a segment of people believe that having buildings is more important in cities than growing trees. As opposed to this is a segment which believes that planting trees is essential epecially in urban areas. I agree with the later segment of people and this essay will describe the reasons for my belief in detail.

Firstly, trees provide a shelter not only to animals but also to humans. There are many people in cities who can afford to live in lavished homes but some can’t even afford a roof on their head. Such individuals or families tend to make trees as their roof and live under it for lifetime. Similarly trees provide a shade to stray animals throughout all the seasons. According to a research by the ‘Shelter to Each’ organization, about 40% of the country’s population is deprived of homes and around 10% of these have found their homes under a tree. Hence, if priority is given to building houses rather than planting trees numerous citizens will be left homeless.

Secondly, industrial revolution has raised the levels pollution to an unbearable amount. With this industrialization comes employment opportunities and thus the population of town increases, ultimately increasing the greenhouse gases. Also, building more houses means adding into air, land and water pollution. Planting trees is the most easy and cost effective way to keep the environmental gases in control and hence reduce global warming. Isn’t it always a pleasure for eyes to have a garden or set of trees infront of the house rather than a tall building? According to a survey, 90% of the families like to live in a place surrounded by trees.

To conclude, planting trees has more benefits and also a demand of time than just growing the numbers of buildings in a town or city.