Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

I would say definitely that I agree a hundred percent with this statement. So, there are an incredible variety of people, culture and clothing worldwide; and, in my point of view, every single piece of cloth can describe something about that culture; or at least the person who is wearing it.

In eastern’s cultures or in some countries in Africa, you can rapidly identify how relevant the attire is for their culture. For instance, what people wear in India shows what layer in society you belong in, or what family you came from. So, it shows such a range of information, what is your profession or even how socially powerful you or your family are.

There is a tendency to avoid the tremendous significance for clothes in western cultures. People really think that they are radically different from easterners. Although, what you wear show a lot more about your self than you imagine, even in the “first world”. Almost every professions have their proper clothes in Canada. Also, you can present all your social influence through the prices of your coat or pantsuits. Then, in my point of view, clothing in western cultures is as much relevant for them as it is in eastern places.

Other perspective about this idea is that the age you live is represented by a specific kind of clothing. By this I mean that people in twenty-one century have more colorful and kinds of accessories than people had thirty or forty years ago. Definitely, they want to express their opinion or emotional status with their clothes nowadays. Otherwise, in the past, there were patterns for clothes that had to be followed; and there were less varieties of options and accessories available for people. So, these patterns usually were between the spectrum of black, gray and white, without much colors.

Therefore, I truly believe that the choice of clothing means a lot about personal’s lifestyle and culture as well. This meaning is becoming stronger last years and in last generation either, as far as I understand.