Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’ culture and character from their choice of clothes

Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that clothes tell plenty of things about the nature and cultural background of a person. I disagree with the notion as clothes may sometimes help to identify not more than basic identity background of a person, however, most cases nowadays they are influenced by western culture and celebrities.

There are few cases in which clothes might help to recognize the background of a person. Some people still follow the traditional dress of their culture. In case of these people, we can identify from their clothes that, they belong to certain community or culture. For example, by seeing a woman in a saree or an Indian ladies suit, we can easily identify that the woman belongs to Indian culture. In my opinion, only these cases, we can identify something about cultural background, nevertheless, it is difficult to recognize more characteristics of the person from their clothes.

On the other side, there is a huge impact of western culture on our clothes, which is leading similar type of clothes all around the globe. People are following western attires and not preferring to wear their cultural clothes. Due to this, it has become impossible to identify the background or character of a person. For instance, most people now wear jeans and T-shirts at home and formals at office, due to this, it is not possible to tell about any feature of them.

Moreover, people are now following their favourite celebrities in the terms of clothing. They try to imitate the attire of their preferred actors or sport stars. This influence of celebrities on clothing has made it difficult for anyone to identify the character or background of a person. Considering all this, I believe that clothes nowadays are influenced either by the international style wearing or by the attires of famous personalities, due to which, it is not possible for us to recognize anything about a person.

To conclude, although in case of some people who follow their traditional attire, we may identify their social background, most cases people follow western style of wearing, which is making it impossible for us to understand anything about them. It is predicated that this influence of celebrities and foreign culture is continue to rise further and will eliminate completely the regional style of clothing.