Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

Increasing popularity of English is leading to reduction of use of several other languages. It is often believed that the situation of fewer languages will make the life of people smoother. I unconditionally agree with this notion as it brings various benefits for the people.

There are numerous reasons which support that reduction of languages will make the life of people comfortable. Firstly, this makes travelling easier as people need not to worry about language disparity while travelling anymore. Tourists need to interact with people of home nation while travelling to a new country. Difference in language creates various communication problems for them. For example, when I went to China for holidays, it was extremely difficult for me to interact with the local people due to difference in language. This had completely ruined my holidays. Had it been the same language in both the nations, it would have been a convenient situation for me. Therefore, I believe that fewer languages will definitely be beneficial for tourists.

Secondly, lesser languages will make migration of people smoother. Many people from developing nations migrate to a developed nation in pursuit of a better life. However, disparity in languages. reduces the options for people as they try to ignore the countries where people speak different language because It takes too much time for him to learn a new language. For instance, it is extremely difficult for a Korean national who does not know English to migrate to countries such as Australia and Canada. According to me, lesser languages will definitely promote the migration of people and open gates of new opportunities for people.

Finally, fewer languages will ease the burden of students. Today, there is huge burden on our youth as they have to study several languages along with complex subjects such as Mathematics and Science. This is increasing their stress and make their young life difficult. If we have lesser languages, then children need not to learn all these complex languages, which will ease the burden on them. Thus, I think that reduction in number of languages will make the life of children easier.

To conclude, lesser languages will make travel and migration of people comfortable along with several benefits to children. It is predicted that sooner the time will come when we have common language all around the globe.