Some people say the main way to be happy in life is to have a lot of money. How might having a lot of money make people happy?. What other things in life can make people happy?.

Money is one of the vital resources for human survival in this world. There is a contentious argument that having surplus amount of cash is the primary reason for a person's happiness. This essay will discuss the reasons for how money make a person happy and identify the alternative ways that bring joy in a person's life.

People identify money as the major way to have a joyous life due to multiple reasons. One of the reason is that, people can live a luxurious life and hassle-free if they are affluent. These wealthy individuals get to buy anything they desire from this world, for example, a mansion, branded cloths and jewelries, expensive cars, gadgets etcetera. Another reason is that, a persons status in the society is determined by the substantial amount of bank balance they have, which in turn means that, If someone is poor then they find it hard to have a social life despite the efforts they make. The journey of Mr Dirubai Ambani from rags to riches is an ideal example of the power that money holds in the society.

Conversely, being wealthy is not the only way to stay jubilant in this world. There are people who find tremendous joy through sharing and caring. One good illustration of this is the life of Dr Ravi, a physician in Tamil Nadu India. Although he hailed from poor family, he dedicated his life treating the poor and the needy in small villages in spite of receiving various high-salary job offers. Apart from this people live a joyous life by seeking happiness in the little moments happening around them. For example, binge-watching with family, sharing healthy humor, spending time with friends, going for a vacation etcetera are blissful memories that majority of the people prefer when compared to having a rich life.

To recapitulate, money is considered as the core reason for happiness by many people. This essay discussed two reasons for this which are; the desire among people to live a rich life and to maintain a social status. This essay also highlighted alternative ways to live a joyful life, which are helping each other and enjoying the little moments in life.