Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There are a few things in the world that can cross the border of countries, races, ages to combine people together. Music is one of these things. I completely agree with the opinion that music ties human beings together because of its feature as a beauty and culture convenor.

As a form of arts, the primary function of music is to presents beauty and express emotions. Human beings share the same feelings, no matter happiness or sadness, passions or desperations, which all can be aroused and awaked by a piece of melody. Scientists already proved that when listening to music, the area controlling emotions in the human brain will be stimulated at the same time. This brain reaction to music is a general phenomenon and has no difference between people from diverse backgrounds and with tremendous age gaps. In this case, music is a perfect medium to convey human feelings, and therefore, combine people together despite various cultures, genders or ages.

Another reason that music can break language and cultural barriers to gather people together relys on its function to spread civilization. Aparting from its merely artistic characteristics, music is also a communicating tool among people from different nationalities and with diverse languages. Through this form of art, people can make themselves to be heard, felt and understood. Taking the song "My Country" as an example. It is the song written specially to celebrate the 70th birthday of China and broadcasted world-widely via radio and TV channels as well as the internet. Numerous non-Chinese left massages on FaceBook or Twitter to say that even though they couldn't understand the language, they still can sense the Chinese history and culture from the song and be touched by the strong love to the country conveyed in it.

To sum up, music is an effective way to put people in diversity together by stimulating sympathy via its artistic features and spreading cultures by crossing language barriers.