Some people say that parents have the most important role in a child’s development. However, others argue that things like television or friends have the most significant influence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often believed that parents play the most significant role in child’s cognitive development. However, some argue that the external factors like television or peers create greater impact. In my opinion, I think that parent’s role can not be compared with any other contributing factor in child’s overall growth.

According to many people, learning starts at home and child’s moral foundation is built from the beginning of their life which is mainly influenced by parents. Offsprings are generally well receptors and acquire the knowledge of distinguishing right from wrong by the guidance of guardians. For example, the impact of parents on child’s development was highlighted in a recent news reported that about over 70 percent off drug addicted children belongs to a family where both parents are working that indicates that lack of parental guidance cause juvenile to go astray.

On the other hand, some argue that significant portion of children’s learning depends on the external factors like gadgets, TV and friends and children like to learn from outside world. An illustration off that fact can be the example of an obedient teenager from a decent family who later on his life become alcohol addicted by the impact of his friends. Television contributes immensely in child’s growth because it provides and sometimes creates trends among youths and drive them towards something good or bad.

In conclusion, although the influence of devices and peers can not be neglected as these can be vital source of good or evil for children’s learning, parents role in the overall growth of children can not be comparable as parents build the foundation of child’s learning process that direct them in their rest of lives.