Some people think that good health is the basic human need. Therefore, the medical service should not be run by the profit-making private company. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

According to some, one of the fundamental human need is to maintain good health, leading to a suggestion of not allowing business companies to take care of the medical service. In my opinion, I strongly believe that the advantages of letting private sector for providing medical service are greatly outweighed by the disadvantages it may bring.

Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of private companies taking care of the public health. As the profit-making is the prime concern of privately owned companies, there would be proper management in hospitals and therefore, people seeking medical treatment would get better care and facilities so that increasing number of people take medical help from private sector and profit-making is assured. Additionally, capitalists would be encouraged to invest more in public health and hence, adequate number of hospitals and diagnostic centers will be established and proper medical services will be ensured for greater portion of people.

Nevertheless, despite having above advantages, I believe the disadvantages would outweigh the benefits. If profit-making companies look after health sector, cost for treatment would be exceptionally higher and a significant number of people from limited financial background will remain excluded from receiving basic medical care due to expensive medical service. For example, numerous diabetic patients would not be able to afford their routine blood-sugar monitoring. Another obvious reason in support to my opinion is that, there would be shortage of doctors who will be willing to work for government hospitals as they will be paid higher in private hospitals. This will also create obstacle in ensuring health facilities for poverty-stricken people.

In conclusion, although there are some benefits of private companies running the medical services such as providing better services and sufficient number of medical institutions, I think the drawbacks like excluding large number of people due to expansive services which is against the basic human rights greatly outweighs the advantages it may bring.