Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time Others say that it is important for children to learn how to preoccupy themselves Discuss both these views and and give your opinion

It is considered by some that motivating their offsprings to participate in group events such as academic exhibitions, sports competitions is the perfect way of parenting. Many argue about the importance of children learning to manage their schedule themselves based on what matters to them. While both of these views are valid to some extent, I personally believe that parents should follow a balanced approach by giving equal importance to both group activities and personal space, which I will be discussing in this essay.

I will first discuss why elders stress upon the importance of involving their children in social activities. Making new friends, knowing how to express their feelings are the major advantages that this approach brings. From my own personal experience, I can vouch to say that I have grown up to be a socially comfortable person because I enjoyed working with new people since my childhood. In addition, children will eventually understand the significant role working as a team has on their personality development.

Now, let me discuss why some prefer to leave their children to their own. This is thought so by parents thinking that doing so will help their kids learn to figure out themselves about how to utilise the time effectively. As per a famous child psychiatrist Dr. Willams, 45% of the children grow up to be dependent on others and tend to become stressed when they have to deal with tough situations. Such behavior has roots from their interactions with people from their childhood. So, had the children given enough opportunity to handle themselves on their own, they would become independent as they grow up.

To conclude, both of the views make sense in their own, but I personally think that balance between both these practices is crucial in healthy upbringing of a child. While participating in group activities adds value to the children by developing networking and teamwork skills, it is equally important to teach them the importance of being able to face any circumstance independently.