Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a widely held belief that government should be responsible for preserving the environment, but there is a strong counter argument amongst sections of the people that it is responsibility of individual. However, I am of the opinion that this is a matter to be debated in light of several factors before a reasonable conclusion can be drawn.

The first and foremost reason is that authorities have a sufficient resource to tackle situation related nature. To justify, the state has enough money as well as manpower to take responsibility of the environment, so it is easy for them to preserve nature at its best.

The second worth mentioning reason here is that the government easily form a rule for industries. In other word, local authorities can impose a strict rule to companies such as textile, dye, chemical and so on to limit the amount of pollutant that to be released in the environment. For example, a recent survey conducted by an eminent environmentalist Eric Chane at Germany revealed that there is 60 % reduction in air pollution after authority enforces the law for the limitation of release hazardous waste into environment at Berlin city.

On the contrary, there are certain group of people who vehemently contend that preserving environment is responsibility of people because the government cannot control the actions of all individuals. Even with laws to protect environment, people must cooperate and follow the rule.

After analysing both the views, I am of the opinion that it is the government’s task to look after environment because they are capable of imposing strict rule to save nature.