Some people say that teenagers should work part-time and earn money. This way they will learn basic lessons about work and become more disciplined. Others argue that teenagers shouldn't sacrifice their rest and after-school activities to work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions differ as to whether adolescents should take part-time jobs to have the first impressions of the working environment or they should focus on personal activities to relax after school. In my opinion, I believe the first option is more beneficial for young people.

To begin with, it is understandable why people argue that teenagers should take their time resting and doing after-school activities. One reason is that a complete relaxation may help a majority of students refill their energy for the next lessons. Since studying in school could be tiring for many youngsters, participating in activities such as traveling or playing sports would leave them sometimes to revise the last lessons, prepare for the next classes and thus, improve their academic performance.

However, I side with those who think the young should take part-time jobs to have more disciplines and experiences in life. One reason to support my standpoint is that people in the age group of 13 to 18 tend to be more impulsive in spending money because most of them are financially supported by their parents. By earning a small salary from these jobs, these individuals will start to appreciate the value of money and become more independent of their family. In Vietnam, for example, more and more students are able to pay for their own expenses themselves and spend money more wisely after doing part-time jobs. Moreover, early exposure to the working environment will also improve young people’s socialization ability which will vastly boost their main career later in their lives.

In conclusion, I assert that teenagers should definitely work part-time to gain more experiences and enhance their social skills.