Some people say zoos should be banned because of being cruel to animals. Others say they should continue because they can protect rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether or not zoos should be prohibited. While zoos sometimes may badly treat animals, I believe that they can effort to conserve endangered species.

One the one hand, in some zoos animals are preserving in non-standard cages. Indeed, providing adequate enclosures for large animals such as elephants and giraffes is very expensive and in practice it is impossible. For instance, in our city zoo, an elephant is placed in a small enclosure, there are no trees and no other elephants. Therefore, this elephant seems bored and certainly would have shorter life span. Moreover, regarding expenses, zoos are not able to provide enough space for all animals in their captive environment. For example, eagles cannot fly in any kinds of enclosures. Hence, these animals would not have suitable circumstances similar to their habitat.

On the other hand, I would argue that zoos seem to be crucial for conserving the species that are susceptible to become extinct. For example, giant panda is one the most well-known endangered species that is protecting in zoos across the world. Zoos not only provide an appropriate enclosure for them, but also they implement a human-controlled breeding situation for pandas to increase their population. Moreover, deforestation as a legacy of increasing human population leads to disappearing animal’s natural habitat. Therefore, conserving animals in zoos in one of the bests ways to save species from extinction.

In conclusion, although some people think that zoos should be forbidden, I believe that they are worthwhile to save endangered species from extinction.