some people spend a lot of money on tickets for sporting or cultural events?

is it a good thing or a bad thing?

It is true that the popularity of sports has been on the rise in the past few decades, new games have been invented as well. Some spend lavishly on these events and I do believe this is not a positive sign in the long run.

First and foremost, extravagant spending for sports leads to disputes and problems in families. This is because they become financially constraint as their budgets shrink. For instance, Formula 1 race tickets cost as much as half of monthly salary of an Azeri employee. Paying for these tickets can squeeze many families and they may not find money to sustain their families for the month, or they will have to stop doing other leisure activities. If people were price conscious, they would not fall into the trap of these sporting games.

Secondly, I would argue that paying extra for tickets do not add any value to the society as a whole. This is because the only side benefits are the managers and shareholders of these sports. For example, soccer clubs are owned by billionaires and their only motive is to make a profit in seasonal championships. Fans, however, enjoy a benefit in the short term but gains nothing valuable in the long run.

in conclusion, considering hefty prices of certain games or events, I would argue that it is not appropriate or worthy to spend more for these as there are no benefits after all.