Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible.

Ensuring an adequate quantity of food supply has always been a concern for nations. A significant number of individuals believe that a nation should prepare own food locally as much as possible rather than importing. I agree and believe that regional manufacturing will improve employment in the nation as well as the cost of a product will be lower.

Firstly, Agricultural activity requires farmers in large quantity, therefore boosting individuals to produce more local food will involve more people towards farming activities. As a result, unemployment issues can be minimized. For example, the government of Indonesia promotes farming and celebrates festivals in the name of agricultural activity to encourage more and more people to do farming, thus 50 per cent of youths are working under agricultural department directly or indirectly.

Secondly, the cost of manufacturing food on regional land is very low as compared with importing from other nations. Hence more food should be produced on national land to limit the inflation rate. The imported products required to pay taxes, international transportation charges and labour charges which ultimately increase the cost of the final product, unlike local food. Therefore, countries should try to avoid the import of food items.

Thirdly, imported food products required higher shelf life for transportation purposes, therefore the production of imported products involve the use of chemicals which serve the purpose of food preservation. However, use of chemicals may cause difficulties in some individuals, it is better to produce local foods

In conclusion, while, imported products might have some advantages, it is best to consume local products, therefore regional farming must be encouraged by country on a greater scale.