Some people think that the advantages of advertising sports products through famous sports players outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Professional athletes have an undeniable influence on the purchasing decisions of their fans. However, despite product believability over the customers, this essay concurs that if sports person’s performance suffers than product’s image also gets down which outweighs its advantage.

On the one hand, this essay concedes that fan wants to adopt the aspects of the strong, active, athletic player. Therefore, they chase products endorsed by athletes. It could be argued that children embrace healthy habits from advertisements cast by famous sports person. To exemplify, Sachin Tendulkar, renowned cricketer, appears in the commercial of Boost (energy drink). Consequently, children often started consuming boost in their diet and eventually sales of the company was also escalated. On the other side, the downside is many sports celebrity promotes wrong products for the sake of money which can be harmful to the consumer such as Joseph Parker ( a famous Boxer) appeared in the ads of Burger King encouraging junk food.

However, although the upsides of casting famous sports tar are a real concern, this essay acknowledges that there are many more reasons to stop advertisements by athletes. Firstly, when athletes performance declines or he becomes involved in a scandal, the endorsed products can also suffer. For an instance, when Tiger Wood had his sex scandal in 2009, many of his sponsors dropped him as an endorser for fear that his negative image would reflect poorly on their products.

To conclude, although I admit that the audience seriously follows sports star and consider the product, bad reputation of athlete can damage sales of the product. Therefore, I agree that the disadvantage of an athletes endorsement of products outweighs the advantages.