Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like.Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt universities play a crucial role in educating society.However, while some believe that this education should be geared exclusively towards subjects that may be of practical use in the future, I would agree with those who argue that one's choice of degree lie with the student.

Firstly, it is vital that universities equip our workforce with scientists, engineers and other professionals that enable our society to progress. This is because a country without such experts is a country without basic amenities essential for the modern life. For instance, if we did not have university-educated engineers, we would not enjoy public transport facilities and infrastructure as subways, trams and bridges. The argument goes that if students are allowed to choose what they want to study, then there will be a shortage of these important workers.

However, it is commonly believed that allowing students to choose what they want to study is the only way to acquire motivation, passionate, and thus competent professionals.The reason for this is that free choice provides people with a sense of autonomy, and research show that autonomy is necessary catalyst for drive and enthusiasm. As a result students have the impetus to master their subject rather than merely aim for good enough. Conversely, if universities force students into one category of study, the drive for mastery that would have come with pursuing their passions will disappear.

In conclusion, although it is of critical importance that universities continue to supply society with professionals in the fields of technology and science, I feel that it should be the student's choice to do so on the basis of their interest.