Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In Kazakhstan, there is a concern in society about the importance of art subjects since they occupy more than twenty five percent of the time children spend studying at school. Some teachers think that these disciplines are critical to teach at school while others claim that they are non-productive. This essay agrees with the idea that art should be made redundant in school program for the following reasons.

The main reason why I think that art subjects are not beneficial for schoolchildren is that there are more important subjects to study. After the graduation from school, many young people get employed as engineers, economists, and lawyers. Therefore, while they are at school, they should be studying more necessary subjects, including maths, physics and history, than music and literature, which are useless to their future career prospects. For example, as part of experiment, some schools, in Karaganda city, substituted art disciplines with vocational subjects to see how fast the students could find occupations when they left school. The result exceeded their expectancy because they had better qualifications than those students with no change in their curriculum.

However, some teachers state that it is necessary for children to study art at school. By studying art subjects, children would learn to appreciate the beauty of the world. If art is removed from school syllabus, then pupils will be unaware of beautiful pictures, songs and theater plays. Consequently, they will feel inferior to those who study art as an extra-curriculum activity. For example, in the former USSR, because they had not been taught art at school, many students found it unpleasantly difficult to answer the questions of art, which students from the USA as.

In conclusion, although art is essential in life, students can learn it separately from other subjects. I think that pupils should not study art and concentrate more on other subjects, such as physics and maths, because these disciplines can improve their career prospects.