Essay topics: Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

one of the highly controversial topics today relates to whether art is a crucial subject for school children or not. In this essay, I am going to shed some light on this question from both points of view and then give my own opinion on the matter.

On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that the benefits of art as an academic subject considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that art is actually imagination of an individual on paper; thus, art aids students in broadening their imagination. it is also possible to say that art acts as a medium for the shy pupil to express their emotions directly. one good illustration of this is that children express their love and emotions for their parents by creating a birthday card using their creativity, provided they had learned this art at the school level. Therefore, it is easy to see why this argument has gained support.

On the other hand, people often argued that art is just a waste of time. people often have this opinion because students are already burdened with other academic subjects; thus adding art subject will enhance that load. Additionally, nowadays there is no job prospects for students in art; consequently, they opt for other vocational academic subjects. To exemplify, students choose either science or commerce stream, which have jobs available in abundant in these fields. Hence, it goes without saying that this viewpoint is credible and realistic.

In my opinion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I tend to believe that art should be optional subject keeping in mind that job prospect of students are is of utmost importance.