Some people think that the effective way to reduce industrial pollution is to tax the companies which cause them. Others think that there are better ways to do so. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Industrial pollution is the biggest threat to our Environment today. As per the recent survey, there has been an increase of 27 per cent in Industries globally which has made the situation worse. Some people argue that the most effective way to curb the contamination caused by factories is to tax them while the other says that there are alternative methods which could be used as a solution. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate both the viewpoints and conclude it with my opinion.

Governments around the world are introducing taxing the factories which are contributing to pollution. This method has not been successful in developing nations which face issues like corruption where factory owners bribe the government officials and do not pay the taxes. As per a recent survey was done by economic times around 70 per cent of the factories in developing nations are contributing to an increase in carbon emissions and evading the laws by not paying taxes.

Similarly, on the other hand, there are a plethora of ways which can be introduced to stop contamination of environment the preponderant one being the introduction of an incentive plan for factories which adhere to the least amount of carbon emission as per the rules and regulations set out by the government. This will not only help in reducing the carbon and toxic waste reduction but also motivate firms, for instance, in countries like China and Japan where corporate tax amounts to 37% per year if the factories meet the carbon emissions level they get an incentive as a reduction of the corporate taxes. Additionally, similar steps are being taken by the Indian government where we see a proliferation of carbon emissions and toxic waste whereby this toxic waste is converted to electricity by factories and government buys it a higher market price from the firms.

To conclude as per the arguments mentioned below though taxation of factories may be able to reduce the pollution. In my opinion, introducing incentive plans is a more effective way to motivate corporates to reduce industrial pollution.