Some people think that the government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children, while others think it is the fault of the parents

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is an issue about who is accountable for children suffering from obese. Some dietitians claim that the blame is on authorities, while some social workers think that it is on parents. This essay agrees that the government should admit their fault.

Let us start with reasons why some dietitians blame the government for the excessive weight among young people. The first reason is that it commonly allows fast food restaurants to sell junk food to children. The authorities worry little about negative consequences of hamburgers on the youth, since they are obsessed with the regular payments from these restaurants in the form of tax. Another reasons is that it normally pays little attention to the health of youngsters. State officials are reluctant to promote healthy lifestyle in school, because it will require them to allocate extra funds from the limited budget. Furthermore, it usually does not stop illegal trade of junk food. Many young people can purchase unhealthy food, even though it is officially prohibited, as the police officers prefer to ignore these places.

However, some social workers argue that parents are liable for this problem. Firstly, they frequently feed their children with processed meals. For example, many mothers prefer having a lunch at the takeaway establishments to cooking dishes at home, which has little contribution to gaining weight. Secondly, they are unwilling to support their children in playing sports. Many children want to exercise in the playgrounds with their parents, which enables them to keep fit, but they mostly choose to stay at home watching their shows on television. Moreover, they set bad role models. A plenty of children adopt unhealthy habits, which lead to obesity, from their fathers as well as mothers.

In conclusion, although some social workers advocate that parents are responsible for their fat children, I think that the government should take both fast food establishments under control and organise more sports events.