Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Childhood obesity is a big concern in many countries, especially in developed countries. Many people blame for authorities because of ignorance and irresponsibility. I think it can be true, but parents are also responsible for this.

There is no denying that governments do not consider this issue enough. Fast food and sweet food are rife in the market, not subject to restrictions from politicians, so children can easily consume them and gain weight. This can be explained by the high profits from companies that produce food focused on children. If governments don't curb the amount of unhealthy food, the rates of obesity in children will continue to increase. Moreover, the lack of education by authorities about consuming food among children and parents is a cause of childhood obesity. They can't aware of diet and healthy food, which leads to numerous bad influences such as being overweight and having heart diseases.

I definitely agree that the main reason leading to overweight in children is from parents. Parents don't limit overeating in children, they ignore it or think that it's good for them. For example, numerous parents in Viet Nam think that the fatter, the stronger and they force their child to eat as much as possible, which leads to the rates of overweight in children in Viet Nam rising rapidly. Parents' inactive lifestyle sets a bad example for children. They rarely eat nutritional meals, play sports, or do exercise, which their children imitate and become fatter.

In conclusion, it is clear that the cause of the high percentage of obesity among children is not only the government's responsibility but also the kids' parents.