Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are a rich variety of art styles all across the world and they represent the history of each nation in various ways. People have different views on the issue of devoting an amount of money to the artists by governments as opposed to private resources, I believe that artists should be supported financially by the governments.

There are some persuasive arguments in favor of the governments' financial support. It is believed that different types of arts are the national identity for nations and it is a way to introduce the culture and customs of the host country to other countries in the world. A salient example of this is London, that supports its artists financially and they earn a large amount of money by exporting their pieces of art to other parts of the globe as well as holding musical concerts which could boost the economy of the country up to 30% in 2008. Furthermore, artists have no particular resource for income and consequently they need the support of governments in order to access prosperity and become renowned among people. I believe that if artists have no anxiety and stress for making a living they would be more motivated to focus on their work and create fabulous pieces of art and it would bring fame and money for them in the future.

On the other hand, there are some strong arguments against this issue. Some people assert that government should spend money on more important schemes such as health, education and social welfare that enhance the quality of people's life and it is not targeted only a specific group of residents, so the average quality of life will improve and poverty will be eradicated and a majority of residents of urban and rural areas will be pulled out of poverty. Moreover, there are affluent funding buddies who are interested in investing money on art and they are enthusiastic to support artists by running exhibitions or purchasing their pieces of arts.

In conclusion, not only governments but also the rich people should support the artists, it is futuristic and wise to help them since they make the future of nations and they can be a good source of income for governments in the future.