Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Retirement at an age set by societal and occupational norms has always been debatable as some people think that it’s unfair and a certain category of workers deserve to retire and receive pension earlier. I agree with this belief and would put forward my reasons to support this thought.

Environment at workplace and lifestyle of a worker play a major role in determining their productivity in the long run. For instance, workers at construction sites are always prone to excessive dust that might lead to various diseases and ill health which are often neglected by them due insufficient funds and poor healthcare facilities. Similarly, labourers on daily wages often cannot excel in their fields after a certain age and find it difficult to meet the standards and increasing demand. Putting the workers’ health and financial conditions at risk by creating stringent rules can prove to be detrimental to their families and society, therefore an early retirement and timely pension plans would make the lives of such families easier. Any work that involves the workers to utilise their physical strength needs to be monitored and laws should be tailored to meet everyone’s requirements as that would motivate the workers resulting in increased productivity and output.

Therefore, after taking into consideration the aforementioned points, I conclude that the retirement age and pension plan should made available to every section of the society at an earlier age which will eventually ensure balance and increased output in the lives of all categories of workers.