Some people think that having a set of retirement age (e.g, 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an early age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that government set retirement age (for instance 65 years) for all their citizens without concerning the career is prejudicial. So they think that certain occupation needs to have flexibility of early retirement. I completely agree with this assertion.

To begin with, there is variety of reasons why people think that setting a retirement age regardless of job categories is unfair. Firstly, it is obvious/undeniable that many occupation necessitate extreme physical and mental activities to achieve certain goals. This could make them exhausted before reaching that age. For example, coal miners or welder could find it difficult to do hard work at their older age. Secondly, many senior person hold their high position for a long time in the company, it might limit the opportunities for young people who are full of energy and creativity.

I strongly believe that in certain occupations, workers deserve to retire and get a pension at early age. Especially those who are working in physically demanding conditions or in high stressful positions should be in early retirement group. This is because their health issues/problems might not allow them to follow the work, such as construction workers or Emergency medical practitioners. Furthermore, in order to gain the fairest arrangement for every occupation, the earlier pension that they receive must be calculated based on their contribution to the society.

In conclusion, It seems to me that a fixed retirement age without categorizing the jobs is unfair and workers in certain careers have a right to receive an earlier pension based on their contribution.