Some people think that illegal Internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that they have little or no impact on artists. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is often thought that copying music from websites without the consent of authorities poses adverse effects on the record companies, others believe it does not. In my opinion, downloading songs unofficially does have unfavourable consequences on music businesses.

It is maintained by some that music piracy is causing financial damage to the artists and copyright-holding record businesses and I agree. This happens when people copy and distribute songs free of cost and violate copyrights of composers and distributors without their consent. Free access to such websites and easy downloading options lead to this unethical act. While many countries are affected, the US tops in illegal music downloading, estimating around 75% of college students who are involved fail to consider its ethical implications. Despite many actions taken against it, music industries are facing huge monetary losses owing to this copyright infringement.

On the other hand, some people support free music downloads believing that it does not harm the artists in any way. On the contrary, they believe cost-free downloading of music and making it accessible to the music lovers without any laws, will increase the popularity of the singers and music companies. Furthermore, they think that CD's are outrageously expensive and do not find it preferable to buy the records when they can access their favourite music with just a click. Therefore, they are of the view to make free downloads legal because this restriction-free music access is not only beneficial for the listeners but also for the recognition and reputation of the music industry.

To conclude, while people may have different views regarding music piracy and its effects over the music world, I believe a violation of laws by copying songs and distributing it against authorities’ consent is certainly responsible for major economic losses the music industry is facing today.