Some people think that intelligence is innate while others think that we can improve our intelligence through learning.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is an issue about the original of brainpower. Some teachers believe that it comes to children from the birth, while some brain scientists say that people develop it through training process. This essay will consider both point of view and agrees with the idea of developing the mental power.

Let us start with the reasons why some teachers claim that thinking abilities are hereditary. The first reason is that gifted people normally have excellent memory. Some children show impressive results in quoting long poems, because they have inherent ability to memorize everything at the first sight. Another reason is that talented people commonly have the ability to solve complicated mathematical tasks quickly. Some people, who are talented in maths, can find a solution to the most difficult arithmetical problems faster than others. Furthermore, great artists usually have rich imagination. Prominent painters, who have shown good results in painting since their children, usually make the greatest pictures.

However, some brain scientists state that the ability to think well comes through education. Firstly, ordinary people can develop effective memory. There are many who are untalented at memorizing, but they can develop this skill by various methods of memorization, such as mnemonic techniques. Secondly, all children get education from teachers. Students usually need tutors, who have educated successful students, to help them grow and challenge in wide range of subjects regardless how gifted they are from birth; Moreover, talents gain greatness through hard work. Developing diligence frequently helps many students to master skills in difficult subjects, including maths and physics, because talent solely cannot contribute to the deep understanding of these disciplines.

In conclusion, although some teachers advocate that the ability to think depends on hereditary characteristics, I think that the intelligence comes to every person through education as well as practice, in spite of their innate capabilities.