Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities have become more isolated.

Discuss both sides & give your opinion.

In this modern era, some people believe that the internet has bridged the gap between each other, whilst others feel that societies are becoming anti-social. I agree that the Internet plays an essential role, but it does lead to minimal contact in your personal life.

Undoubtedly, one of the major reasons as to why the Internet plays a vital role in one's life. Distant families and friends can be reached easily within minutes from any part of the globe. For example, in rural areas, where 80% of the population is illiterate people can utilize the features of voice/video calling in one of the socializing application such as - Whatsapp, or IMO to connect with their loved ones who are away geographically. Similarly, in the corporate part of the world, a businessman cannot be present in multiple locations at the same time, which means that he cannot manage without the internet to perform his tasks. Moreover, he can use the technology to transmit his work to different locations as and when the work demands.

On the other hand, the internet has an adverse effect on people, especially this generation. To begin with, adolescents often prefer staying at home and lying on the couch during their free time due to this they spend hours online with their virtual friends. Also, if they meet up with their friends and families, they are often seen to be busy on their devices. Furthermore, teenagers have more connections online than in their real lives. For example, a recent study held at Harvard University, the students were given a choice to build relations online or in person that resulted in 80% of the students opting for online. As a result, nowadays, people do not socialize much unlike in the past when families and friends used to go for picnics, camping, sporting and so on. Hence, people often fail to realize that they are becoming isolated from the rest of the world. For this reason, people lead a stressful life.

In conclusion, having said that the internet is a technology that cannot be ignored as it has a major impact on our lives by all aspects, but there are certain measures that can always be taken to stay away from the technology as much as possible.