Even though globalization affects the world’s economies in a positive way, its negative side should not be forgotten. Discuss.

It is indisputable that globalization is becoming ubiquitous on the emerging market all over the world. Although it is undeniable that it has offered great advantages, the drawbacks cannot be overshadowed.

It is true that there are several benefits of global trade. Multinational companies have opened their branch in different nations. Moreover, these companies facilitate from the lower cost of employment by hiring local talents from developing countries. For example, Etisalat a telecom operator in U.A.E has outsourced their BPO services with Tech Mahindra in Mumbai, India. Therefore, this formal agreement between the two countries is a win-win opportunity for both the parties.

However, developing countries like India, Egypt, and Malaysia and so on have numerous small-medium business firms who operate locally. Also, their profit margin is on a lower scale. As a result, in the long run, these smaller - medium enterprises can no longer sustain in front of the foreign entities. Another pitfall to this is that the top-notch companies of western countries often operate their manufacturing department from the poor countries. In Bangladesh, for instance, the local staffs often operate in a sweatshop for 14-15 hours with a minimum wage of 50cents per hour. Consequently, these downsides will not aid to literate professionals of the underdeveloped nations if they continue working for the international organizations.

In conclusion, globalization generates lower employment cost as well as cross-border investments. However, it has a profound effect on the underdeveloped countries by the exploitation of local workers as well as ceases the opportunity for local business expansion. Overall, globalization can be improved, but government officials should take certain measures to combat the sweatshop working conditions and encouraging local businesses.