Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although single-sex schools are often considered to be ideal for educating both genders, some argue that co- education system is more beneficial. In my opinion, even though students can concentrate more on studies in single-gender schools, I believe that they learn social skills by studying in mixed education institutions.

On the one hand, boys and girls confront with fewer distractions in separate schools. This is because there are minimal chances of getting attracted toward the opposite sex, which is common during teenage. As a result, they pay more attention to contemplate academic subjects, leading to better performance in examinations. For instance, a survey conducted by Central Board of Secondary Education, India, found that the disciples of single-gender schools achieve higher percentages every year compared to others. However, I disagree with this view because boys and girls compete against each other in a classroom which encourages them to study more.

On the other hand, while attending mixed schools, pupils develop valuable interpersonal skills. In other word, students get opportunities to participate in teams encompassing both genders; therefore, they learn skills for conversating with the opposite gender and understand the behaviour pattern of each other. To illustrate, recent research revealed that 70% of the female professionals who have studied in co-education schools have less conflicts with their male colleagues. I agree with this opinion because these institutions prepare pupils for their adult life.

To conclude, albeit male and female students can focus on their education in a better way at separate schools, I think that learning in co-education schools is more advantageous because pupils learn imperative skills for socializing with the opposite sex.