Some people think it is a good thing for senior managers to have much higher salaries than the other workers in a company. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that it is beneficial for people in senior management to have a higher pay-scale as compare to other employees of a company. I completely agree with this notion because workers employed as senior managers have more responsibility and this brings a sense of competition among workers.

To begin with, senior managers have added responsibilities in comparison to other workers. That is to say that when people are employed at a top post they just do not have to fulfill their own responsibilities, but to make sure if other workers in organisation are doing their tasks appropriately. They are the one who represents company at a higher level, and make all strategies and take all big decisions which involve a lot of risks because if anything goes wrong they would be the one to lose their job, For example, report published by the Times of India states that a senior manager has 10 times more responsibility than an associate.

Another reason for my viewpoint is that higher salaries at higher positions motivate employees to be competitive. This is because higher salary attracts people to work harder and to be the best they can possibly be in. The drive to earn promotion and to fulfill their dreams boosts their work ethic. As a result, when employees perform better, ultimately, company do well in the market and gain profit. For instance, research done by Cambridge University concluded that higher salary is the primary factor that motivates employees to work hard at their job and compete with their colleagues.

In conclusion, I agree that it is a good thing for the employees employed at top positions to get higher salaries than the other workers because they have added responsibility and the difference in pay-scale motivates other employees to be competitive.