Some people think libraries are a waste of resources and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While computers are considered an economical source of getting information, many people choose traditional methods of acquiring data which means to read books in libraries. In my opinion, instead of replacing libraries with computers, both facilities should be available to knowledge seekers at one place which would be less expensive.

People believe that contemporary methods, such as computers should be introduced by ending libraries. It is thought that computer labs are less expensive than maintaining libraries. Computers are more efficient to acquire information because it can store a large size of data. Also, it requires only one soft copy of a book and that can be further copied and transferred as many times as needed. Therefore, a large space to arrange copies of books in shelves is not needed which results into saving of money. In addition, there is not any chance that soft copies of books will tear apart some time, and heavy cost will be incurred in their repair as data in computers is safer than books in racks.

Mostly people, on the other hand, are not computer literate, therefore significance of libraries cannot be overlooked. Elderly people, for example, prefer reading books, magazines in hard form rather on computers because they find reading on a screen pretty difficult. Moreover, if data on a computer gets deleted, it will be almost impossible to recover it. It might cost a hefty amount to avail services of a computer expert. However, repair of a torn book does not involve a large amount.

In my opinion, libraries should upgrade their system by including one or two computer labs. This would allow people to go for their priorities. As a result, an already existed library building can serve both purposes which is more economical than making arrangements for computers by replacing libraries.

To conclude, although computer is an efficient modern technology to read, store and transfer books, a library can fulfill the needs of both young and old generation by having both facilities under one roof. Therefore, replacing libraries with computers is not going to save money.