Some people think personal car is the best way to travel within cities, while others think bicycles are better.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Transportation has proven to be an integral part of city dwellers’ lives. While some believe using private vehicles is more suitable for short travels within cities, others point out that bicycles are probably a better means of transportation. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument in detail, and why using private cars is ultimately superior.

Bicycles are without any doubt an efficient means of transportation, especially for city residents. While the majority of megacities are affluent by traffic congestion, riding bicycle appears to be a good idea so as to evade probable traffic jams. This is especially the case for individuals commuting to their workplace on a daily basis. New York citizens, for instance, can save more than 4 hours over a month period should they substitute their cars with bicycles for taking short travels. Apart from time-saving, cyclists often argue that riding bicycles can dramatically boost one’s physical health; thus, it is advisable to follow a healthier transportation means. Riding bicycles instead of driving cars, particularly in metropolitan cities, arguably offer citizens the opportunity not to waste their precious time in traffic streams as well as elevate their health condition.

Although a sizeable number of people thoroughly advocate the idea of using bicycles rather than cars for urban journeys, not everyone shares the same idea. In fact, cars tend to be ideal means for many when it comes to travels within cities. Indisputably, driving cars while you are living in a city usually facing harsh weather conditions is far more convenient compared to riding bicycles. Cars are originally designed to provide their passengers with a pleasurable atmosphere, protecting them from probable inconveniences, such as torrential rain. Moreover, only a few cities have vital safety infrastructures for cyclists, like specified bicycle lanes. This lack of sufficient developments persuades more people towards using their own cars since safety is of the high priority of most dwellers. Driving appears to be a pleasurable experience for those who put an emphasis on both safety and convenience.

Overall, taking all above-mentioned points into consideration, we can arrive at a concluding view that although many cite that bicycles are healthier and more time efficient, there is another group arguing that cars are better in terms of convenience. In my opinion, using cars in short trips would be a superior experience to riding bicycles.