Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase tax on petrol (diesel). Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the majority of metropolis cities are confronting a number of problems, such as traffic jams and air pollution. However, some individuals believe that imposing tax on fuel will be mitigated such problems. This write up, will discuss how hiked fuel rate would not beneficial for society rather than it has some benefits.

To begin with, there are plethoras of various benefits of imposing tax on fossil fuel. Firstly, if the fuel available at high rate then people will reduce the use of own vehicles. As the main cause of burgeoning traffic is a vast variety of vehicles manufacturing. Additionally, these automobiles are available with variant and facilities, such as cost-efficiency, reliable and mileage sufficiency. This availability encourages people to purchase such vehicles. Secondly, the high rate of fuel will not affordable by everyone and that will mitigate the vast consumption of fuels, therefore, people will use public transport rather than their own vehicles.

On the other hand, the main two problems are being confronting by individuals, due to highly rate of fuel. Firstly, imposing tax on fossil fuel will only deter the middle-group families. The affluent people can afford the highly priced oil. Secondly, if the petrol and diesel will available on high rates then obviously, the inflation rate will be also increased. Thus, it is very hard for poor people to survive. For instance, due to high price of oils and highly inflation rates, the developing countries facing difficulties for their citizens.

To Sum up, the traffic congestion and pollution are the main problems in big cities. Although, there are lot of solutions, imposing tax on fuel is one of them. But this only approach will not decrease the traffic and pollution related problems. Some other measurements such as, rule and regulations for industrial wastage, car polling, better public transport, should also be taken to solve the problems. Lastly, increasing tax on fuel have demerits than merits.