Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase tax on petrol (gasoline). Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Cities around the world are facing enormous issues where traffic and pollution are the most prevalent. Some people put forth the idea that concerned authorities should raise the tax on petroleum products to curb these issues. This essay will discuss that cited suggestion has more drawbacks than benefits.

Advocates of increased tax on petrol suggest that it will discourage people from using private vehicles and authorities will be benefited. The travelling expenses will rise and people will opt for public transport which results in less traffic on road. For instance, in 2018 Times of India published an article stating that the tax increase on petroleum products in India led to the rise in the number of commuters who use public transport. As a result, the government collected more revenue from public transport as compared to the last financial year.

Despite this compelling profit, it can be a disaster for the common man. Generally, transportation cost is included in the price of every commodity. This move will increase the transportation cost and inevitably the cost of essential goods would go up. As a consequence, a majority of the section of society consisting of middle class and poor will be affected. For example, if the prices of general household items are high then either people won’t buy it or purchase only a small quantity of it. This will disrupt the demand and supply chain and retailers were forced to stock the goods.

In conclusion, the suggestion of inflating the tax on petrol will only benefit the government to generate high revenue and unavoidably it will increase the inflation in the economy resulting in an excessive financial burden on poor people.