Some people think that school children need to learn practical skills such as car maintenance or bank account management along with the academic subjects at school To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people think that life skills should be taught at schools in addition to the standard academic schedule. In my opinion, I disagree that schools should teach skills like bank account management and car maintenance.

It is more important for teachers to stay focus on providing academic knowledge for students. School subjects like math, science, or literature are the very basis to shape people’s future life. As a result, students who are equipped with these elementary subjects lay strong foundations for their success in both life and career. Moreover, we live in a knowledge-based economy where independent thinking and problem-solving are the most important skills; therefore, certain skills such as car maintenance or bank account management shall not necessary. Finally, there are many subjects that schools should provide for their students, which result in no vacant time for other training.

In addition, people can learn life skills without going to school. For example, bank account management is a life skill that anyone can learn by simply opening a bank account. Most adults have no problem managing their finances without being taught accounting lessons at schools. Oher skills like car maintenance are not significant since most people with automotive problems usually take their cars to a qualified mechanic. Furthermore, there are several courses about these kinds of practical skills that people can enroll in from many training centers or they can simply look for similar online courses available on the internet.

In conclusion, I believe schools should keep focusing on presenting traditional academic subjects for students as other practical skills easily to approach.