Some people think that spending a lot on holding wedding parties, birthday parties and other celebrations is just a waste of money. Others, however, think that these are necessary for individuals and the society. Discuss.

It is generally argued that, spending a huge amount of money on wedding, birthday parties and other festivities is inappropriate, while others opine that these celebrations are cultural traditions that are essential for the society as well as the people. This essay will discuss both the sides of argument in detail.

The sole purpose of a celebration is to provide a reason to organise a social gathering. But nowadays, a pre-wedding cocktail dinner or a birthday party of a 18 year old teenager has become a show-off trend. For a filthy rich family, these extravagant gatherings are part of their social life, while for others who cannot afford such luxuries, it becomes a matter of disappointed. Moreover, these type of grand events pose a serious inequality issue in a society.

On the other hand, human beings are social animals and socializing is inevitable for them. Socializing also creates harmony among communities. There are several festivals, which not only promotes human interaction but also teaches about cultural history of a particular region. For instance, in a country like India, which filled with cultural diversity, celebrates numerous festival throughout the year, which are associated with one or another mythical story. These type of celebration, although being costly, becomes a source of knowledge, important for future generations to learn.

All in all, it is really necessary for humans to stay I touch with each other and these celebrations are a perfect way to do it, but spending lot, just to prove the power of money is not ideal. Too much money should not be wasted on mere events like a birthday party which comes every year, but a judicious use of money in festival is wise.