Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It is believed that colleges should equip students with the knowledge and necessary skils for the future jobs while others argue that the main role of universities is only teaching knowledge for learners.

Obviously, prominently skillful employers require both practical experience and sturdy foundation knowledge. If a person know many professional information but lack of skills involving to jobs ,they may be confused when starting a work. Therefore, mnay people believe that people should learn both knowledge and skills when they study higher education.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that universities should focus absolutely on teaching students knowledge. The first significane is in college, there are enormous soure of information that need to be learnt, so lack of time will be a problem if universities decide to add classes teaching skills. Besides, students will be under a lot of pressures because many tests may appear. Learning too much things in the same time leads to negative impacts like falling behind their studies. In addition, skills studied in university may not meet demands of recruiters because of lack of directly real experience. It is thought that skills required in workplaces should be achieved in real life and real work. Classes teaching skills just mimic reality and skills which were taught by lectures were vicarious knowledge with students. That is the reason why people should seek for part-time jobs or take advantages of internships to study more than in lectures.

To sum up, universitie is a place where learn knowledge and turn those into practical skills by experiencing jobs in real workplaces. I believe that skills are useful when they are not gained by vicarious experience.