Some people think that the use of mobile (cell) phones should be banned in public places such as in libraries, shop and on public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people have suggested that the use of mobile phones be completely restricted in public areas such as in libraries, shops and on public transport. In my opinion, cell phones should not be banned as they can save lives in case of emergencies and can be put in a mode that will not disturb others while in public areas.

Mobile phones are our closest source of reaching out for help in case of an emergency. While in public areas such as in a library, a medical emergency could occur which may lead to the lose of a life if not attended to immediately, such fatality can be avoided if there is a cell phone in close proximity, with which to seek medical assistance immediately, this would not be possible if mobile phones were banned in such public areas.

Furthermore, I believe that mobile phones ought not to be banned as they all have a setting which when activated can prevent the intrusive nature of the phone in public areas, for example while in a library a person can put his or her phone on silent mode that way it will not be of any disturbance to others present in the library who may be trying to concentrate.

In conclusion, mobile phones can be a life saver in case of an emergency, and the intrusive nature of the cell phone can be avoided by putting it in a mode that will not disturb others, and as such should not be banned in public areas.